top of page

Graphic Novel tip: Bride of the Water God

When I was a young girl, I came in contact with Mahnwa (Korean comic style) through a local book store, even before I knew what Manga (Japanese comic style) was. And I loved it. The stories, the artwork, everything. I still think it's a shame that Manga seems to be way more popular than Mahnwa. So one day, when I was browsing Facebook, I came across this page. I fell in love with the artwork of Bride of the Water God (by Yun Mi-kyung), even before I knew the story or anything else about it. But the story seemed very appealing too. The 'official' summary:

Soah is a girl from a small village suffering from a long, devastating drought. In order to appease the Water God, the most beautiful girl from the village must be sacrificed. Soah is chosen to become Habaek's bride, but instead of dying at the hands of a monster, she is unexpectedly rescued by Habaek and brought to his Kingdom.

As Soah learns to live in a strange new world filled with gods, she is caught up in various intrigues surrounding Habaek and finds it increasingly difficult to know whom she can trust. In the midst of such trouble, she finds she has fallen in love with Mui, unaware that he is the true form of Habaek.

Normally I'm not really in romantic stories, but this story is so beautifully written and drawn, that I just can't not like it. So I read all the volumes that there was available at the time (there is one coming out every month). I really liked the mystic part of the story and all the surpring plot twists. Also the development of the romantic relationship between Soah and Mui is great. The story is set in Ancient China, which is a very interesting time period. And take a look at some of the artwork:

Beautifull, isn't it? You can read Bride of the Water God in English, here. But ofcourse, if you want to support the author, buy a printed copy.

What do you think of Bride of the Water God?

Follow Me
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • RSS - Black Circle
Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page